I Believe

i-believe

Genesis 1 – “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.”

I believe God created all that there is: the heavens, the Earth, man, woman, animals, wind, water – you name it, He created it for our pleasure and sustenance.

Exodus 21-22 – “21 Then Moses raised his hand over the sea, and the Lord opened up a path through the water with a strong east wind. The wind blew all that night, turning the seabed into dry land. 22 So the people of Israel walked through the middle of the sea on dry ground, with walls of water on each side!”

I believe God parted the Red Sea so that His people, the Israelites, would cross it safely.

John 11:41-44 – 41 So they rolled the stone aside. Then Jesus looked up to heaven and said, “Father, thank you for hearing me. 42 You always hear me, but I said it out loud for the sake of all these people standing here, so that they will believe you sent me.” 43 Then Jesus shouted, “Lazarus, come out!” 44 And the dead man came out, his hands and feet bound in graveclothes, his face wrapped in a headcloth. Jesus told them, “Unwrap him and let him go!”

I not only believe that Jesus resurrected Lazarus from the dead, but I also believe that had Jesus not called Lazarus by name, every dead person in that tomb would have walked out of there alive again!

Luke 23:24 – “Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they don’t know what they are doing.”

I believe that Jesus was God, just as He said He was.  Only God would be willing to be nailed to a cross for sins He never committed in order that everyone else would have the ability to live a perfect eternity in Heaven, and then ask for forgiveness for the very people who killed Him.

Why do I believe all of this?

Because God said it – that means it’s true – and that’s all I need to know.

This is called “having faith in the things not seen.”  I fully admit there are many things about our lives I will never understand.  Therefore there simply has to be someone much more intelligent than we are.  When I look around and notice that no two of anything are exactly the same, I realize that there is an artist/creator who loves to beautifully create things and care for them.  When I try to figure out how and why my heart beats, I am left only knowing that all I need to know is that God knows why it’s beating and when it will stop, and that’s all I need to know.

Friend, let me put it to you this way.  If I am wrong in believing in God, then I will just die like every other unbeliever and I will have lost nothing.  Yet, if my faith is well placed and God does exist (and He does!) then the non-believer is looking at an eternity in place that never stops hurting them and tormenting them.  Then who is worse off?

I like my odds.  Do you like yours?

If you would like to have God working in your life and helping you through your unbelief, then won’t you pray this simple prayer – “Father God, right this minute I refuse to live my life for myself.  I have tried that and I do is fail miserably.  I humble myself before You and recognize You as the Great I Am, the God and Creator of all and I accept Jesus Christ as my personal Savior.  Let me begin to live the life You want me to.”

If you prayed this prayer, then welcome to an ever growing group of people who know and believe that every word in the Bible is true and that Jesus died for you.  We have been wondering when you would get here!  Welcome home!

With full belief and great love for your decision,

Pastor Brad Komgenick
God’s Light Christian Counseling
317-379-2842

God’s Light Christian Counseling is now accepting new clients through July.  We offer video counseling appointments that are done from the comfort of your own home.  If you would like to begin living the life God created for you, but find yourself needing help, we are here for you!  Call us today to reserve your appointment.  May God bless you!

Circle Logo 3

 


Leave a comment